View Single Post
Old 09-20-2007, 09:12 AM   #3
Markel
Chief of Naval Operations
 
Markel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 11,733
I had a couple of "interesting" emails pop up in several accounts recently. Supposedly they were from someone that had an item for sale, saying he had more of the item I had bid on (the auction was still active) for sale and asking me to make him an offer. I took a look at the bidder list on the auction and noticed a username that matches my Yahoo, Gmail, (and Comcast) user id (but is NOT my eBay id). I messaged the person with the user id, explaining the situation and asking him to verify that his email address was correct (and he replied that it was). I then forwarded the message to eBay "Safe Harbor", and they replied that it was "Spam" (no eBay account registered with the source email address). I figure that the spammer looked at the user id of bidders and tried to guess at their email address. So when he saw user id "CSMITH", he tried emailing CSMITH@Yahoo.com, CSMITH@Gmail.com, etc. with his "offer". But my eBay id is "CHARLIE_S" (not really - just for example), so he was barking up the wrong tree.
__________________
stay low... keep moving...
Markel is offline   Reply With Quote