PDA

View Full Version : Possible purchase



johnnymk
07-10-2009, 01:59 PM
I found a very desirable classic car on Craigslist. The car is priced about 25%-35% of what it normally brings. He sent me pictures and it appears to be too good to be true.

Here's the catch. The car is about 1000 miles away even though it was advertised locally. The guy claims he needs money right away to pay for tuition and that he is from the area.

I asked him how he would guarantee that I would get the car. (He had originally stated that his father works for a shipping company and that the price includes shipping). He said that he woud use the vehicle protection plan from eBay.

I went to eBay's site and it guarantees vehicles up to 50K for fraud. I didn't know that option was available for non eBay cars.

Here is the reply I just received from him:

The car was listed on ebay, but i removed it someone bid on the buy it now price and didn't purchase it. But now I'm still under their protection.
Like I said, The car is here with me, in XXXXXXXXXXXXXX.
After ebay will receive your payment confirmation the car will be home to you in about 50 hours. After you receive the car, you have two days for test drive and inspect.
In those two days you can change your mind about this transaction, and if the car isn't like I said, or there is something wrong with it, you can simply reject it.
The shipping company will take care of the shipping back, with no costs for you, and the money will be totally refund to you.
But is not the case to reject it! Because this is a great car and I never had any problems with it.

Something doesn't sound right.

Markel
07-10-2009, 04:16 PM
I would be very suspicious of a car listed local that isn't local. Have you searched for other entries by this seller? My daughter once forwarded me a Craigslist car ad that seemed way below what you would expect to pay. When I did some searching, I found the same car listed in multiple cities, and other similar entries from the same seller that had been deleted.

johnnymk
07-10-2009, 04:37 PM
When I want to go to multiple CL sites, I use searchtempest.com. I have seen many cars listed on different areas. That doesn't alarm me at all. It just increases their chances of a purchase.

How do I locate his other listings?

Daedalus
07-10-2009, 05:35 PM
This one smells. Circumstances are thin. The writing is fairly Scamglish, though better than average.

I use google to find multiple listings. Use "copied and pasted quotes" from the ad. If the digital photos have unique names you can google them too under Images. Was the car advertised as being 1000 miles away in the ad, or was this something you only found out after contacting the person?

Tell them you have a good friend in the nearest large town who will look at the vehicle for you. If you don't get a reply then you have your answer. If you do get a reply it may not mean much, as they may just be calling your bluff.

johnnymk
07-10-2009, 05:51 PM
He claims the eBay bid is not current so he doesn't have a link to the bid. Doesn't eBay keep an old bid on their site for at least 30 days?

DarkFury
07-10-2009, 06:18 PM
Sounds like Scam to me... I'd pass on it.

mechmike0034
07-10-2009, 10:17 PM
This is a common scam - check the eBay Motors discussion board (http://forums.ebay.com/db1/forum/Ebay-Motors/20) as there are several pinned threads at the top which talk about this.

Also, Craigslist has a page about this (http://www.craigslist.org/about/scams)...

This warning at the top of the Craigslist auto listings is there for a reason:

http://s92425274.onlinehome.us/wsc92425264/Linked/clautowarning.jpg

Stop corresponding with the scammer and run a virus/spyware scan on your computer...

johnnymk
07-11-2009, 05:13 AM
Thank you very much!!

renovation
07-11-2009, 08:36 PM
johnnymk if your looking for a classic auto -do what i do i go to alburn,ind.
here is a link - http://www.kruse.com/auctions/aubfall09/index.asp we have in me and friends have gone there and bought some really nice cars.

brainsmile
07-11-2009, 09:25 PM
I'd run JMK

johnnymk
07-11-2009, 10:31 PM
He never replied/gotta be a scam