PDA

View Full Version : free $10 Amazon GC



mysterX
02-22-2001, 12:28 PM
http://hplj1.m0.net/m/p/hpn/amz/amazon.asp

I don't count on getting it either... :)

fabfore1
02-22-2001, 12:43 PM
You never know... :)

Your submittal has been accepted; we thank you for your time. You will receive your $10.00 gift certificate for Amazon.com in 10 business days.

Jeffbx
02-22-2001, 12:50 PM
Eh, worth a shot. Thanks!

msventre
02-22-2001, 01:03 PM
Why not

smeakim
02-22-2001, 01:06 PM
Good find worth a short free os always good

Joshua
02-22-2001, 01:06 PM
Looks Legit to me...

jng
02-22-2001, 01:09 PM
you never know.

m0j0
02-22-2001, 01:09 PM
i'm in

Seagull
02-22-2001, 01:16 PM
Painless!

giambona
02-22-2001, 05:47 PM
Did you notice that the URL is not on the HP site?
And why the hell would it take over a week to send an Amazon GC?

irwin
02-22-2001, 06:47 PM
It's a direct marketing website. HP must outsource this kind of stuff to them - if you go here: http://www.digitalimpact.com/about/client.shtml you can see that HP is a client of theirs. It isn't a site posing as HP to collect addresses.

Twilight
02-22-2001, 08:51 PM
Is it just me, or does the link not work?

Edge17
02-23-2001, 06:54 AM
Ummm....the site doesn't even check for repeat IP addresses, or to see whether the same email address already exists in their database for that matter. I used the same address twice on it, and it went through both time. Might be legit, but I somehow doubt i'll be seeing this...

[Edited by Edge17 on 02-23-2001 at 07:04 AM]

welfareloser
02-23-2001, 07:06 AM
my guess is no way. "submittal?" not that you have to have english phd's on staff to be legit, but...

Paymaster
02-23-2001, 07:59 AM
Be sure to tell them that they can contact you by phone and postal mail... They don't ask for your phone number or address!

m0j0
02-23-2001, 09:57 AM
Originally posted by welfareloser
my guess is no way. "submittal?" not that you have to have english phd's on staff to be legit, but...

"submittal" is a noun

phredd
02-23-2001, 10:55 AM
If this is not legit, HP would've pulled it by now. There is no way HP would let some 3rd party website slap its logo all over a web page and claim to represent HP. I'm not saying we will get our $10, but I serioulsy doubt this is some sort of scam.

maggiebirdie
02-23-2001, 11:58 AM
Yay!! Thanks friend

welfareloser
02-23-2001, 02:01 PM
Originally posted by m0j0

Originally posted by welfareloser
my guess is no way. "submittal?" not that you have to have english phd's on staff to be legit, but...

"submittal" is a noun

yeah, it's in some dictionaries, but if you wanna be a stickler (and i have nothing better to do than to be a stickler) "submission" is the proper word...

[Edited by welfareloser on 02-23-2001 at 02:05 PM]

welfareloser
02-23-2001, 02:02 PM
Originally posted by phredd
If this is not legit, HP would've pulled it by now. There is no way HP would let some 3rd party website slap its logo all over a web page and claim to represent HP. I'm not saying we will get our $10, but I serioulsy doubt this is some sort of scam.

i dunno... could take em several days to get it pulled... and that's if someone has been kind enough to notify hp...

i love speculationating...

m0j0
02-23-2001, 02:15 PM
Originally posted by welfareloser
[QUOTE]

yeah, it's in some dictionaries, but if you wanna be a stickler (and i have nothing better to do than to be a stickler) "submission" is the proper word...

[Edited by welfareloser on 02-23-2001 at 02:05 PM]

this is interesting. i guess since it is a noun that actually is not wholly tangible, i can see someone not wanting it to be an object. however, in this case either one works well. you seem to prefer that they thank you for an action. i submit that they can thank me for the information itself. i will spare everyone my litany and just leave it at that.

phredd
02-23-2001, 02:19 PM
Well, worst comes to worst, all they have is your e-mail.


Originally posted by welfareloser

Originally posted by phredd
If this is not legit, HP would've pulled it by now. There is no way HP would let some 3rd party website slap its logo all over a web page and claim to represent HP. I'm not saying we will get our $10, but I serioulsy doubt this is some sort of scam.

i dunno... could take em several days to get it pulled... and that's if someone has been kind enough to notify hp...

i love speculationating...

Paymaster
06-15-2001, 08:28 AM
Just a heads-up. The promotional certificates that I got from them (from the "second wave") expire tomorrow. If you've got a stack of them that you have been harding, either use 'em, or post 'em up!

IK i W i b e b e
06-15-2001, 09:02 AM
*sniff

Subscribe to Incoming, HP's free customized business e-newsletter! Please note that our Amazon gift certificate promotion has ended.
this is a February thread...?!? lol o wellz... i guess i joined gotapex late =X