PDA

View Full Version : tracking down an e-mailer



jamespf
05-25-2001, 03:33 PM
I have the origanating IP address (207.144.222.104) of an e-mail that was sent "annonomusly" to a friend. I tried a reverse IP lookup, but it didn't really lead me anywhere. Anyone know how to find out some info of the person with that IP address? Like the Town or ISP? I suspect that it's from IL if that helps. URLs and techniques would be appreciated.

It was from a hotmail account, I have the screen name if that helps...
Thanks.

m0j0
05-25-2001, 03:41 PM
i wouldnt post someone's IP addy here....

but anyways, if they have dial-up, good luck. you may be able to see who leased that IP addy at that time, if the time on the header is accurate. and if they use web-based mail, good luck. ppl lie about their info all the time. if they are static, then that is better. then if they are not using proxies, even better. and if they are not spoofing an IP, even better.

clumsy me! i just noticed that you said it was hotmail. so, good luck.

fakesurfers
05-25-2001, 04:37 PM
open a dos window, type:

tracert xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx


replace the x's with the ip address
looks like chicago, illinois

keep in mind a skilled spammer can use an improperly configured smtp relay server to disguise the true origin.

TheLoneGunman
05-25-2001, 05:30 PM
Please post the entire mail header (from the show all headers). You can delete your email address, but keep everything else.

I can probably decode a bunch of stuff from it (it will list things such as browser type and mailer protocol)

Also, Hotmail backtraces IPs before it accepts them specifically to prevent spamming. On the other hand, plenty of people spoof Hotmail addresses so it might have originated somewhere else (That's why I wanted a complete header)

topane
05-25-2001, 05:46 PM
Sam Spade http://www.samspade.org has a bunch of online tools, and the Windows tools (free download) are great for tracking forged email headers. Give it a look, I have found it to be an excellent set of tools.

jamespf
05-25-2001, 10:23 PM
Here's the header
-------------------
From: "Alfred Pennyworth" <[email protected]>
To: [email protected]
Subject: hey sexy
Date: Thu, 24 May 2001 22:23:18 -0000
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Originating-IP: [207.144.222.104]
Received: from 207.144.222.104 by lw14fd.law14.hotmail.msn.com with HTTP;Thu, 24 May 2001 22:23:18 GMT
-----------------

This isn't some big time spammer. It's just some high school kid that's playing "guess who's screwing with you". The kid thinks he's slick by registering a hotmail account with fake info. I'm sure that was the most he knew to do to cover his tracks.

I don't want people to flame this guy, I gust want to scare him a little.

I would like to narrow this IP address down to a low level ISP. Maybe a town. This friend of mine goes to a small high school, about 400 students. The HS is made of 5 towns, so If I can narrow it down to a town, I could get a pretty good guess of who it is.

When I run a reverse ip lookup I get "WINS" which is some group or something that covers about 200 towns in central Illinois. I think the local ISPs must lease IP ranges from the WINS group.

If you find out anything let me know. Then tell me how you got it.

Thanks,
Jim

ironchef
06-01-2001, 12:32 PM
Forgot I had this nice little tutorial laying around. Somebody from one of the anti-spam newsgroups lent me quite an explanation when I asked. So here it is, in all its wonderfulness:


----------------------------------------------------------
OK, Tim. Here's what I do. Do you run Windows? In which case, here's a small tutorial:

The standard programs we (tinw*) use are Sam Spade Personal
<http://www.samspade.org/ssw/> and NetDemon
<http://www.netdemon.net/>. I use Sam Spade more, so the tutorial follows.

Firstly, you copy the full message into your clipboard, then boot Spade. Once that is done, select

Tools > Parse Email Headers

click Paste, and click Parse. What follows is a processed list from a recent ZZN (Find Out About...) spam.

---BEGIN CHECK---
From [email protected] Mon Sep 25 08:31:06 2000
Hmmm from isn't a header I recognise
Received: from [210.97.17.6] (helo=dove.kyungin-c.ac.kr) by
carbon.btinternet.com with smtp (Exim 3.03 #83) id
13dSj8-0002Cz-00; Mon, 25 Sep 2000 08:31:04 +0100
This received header was added by your mailserver
carbon.btinternet.com received this from someone claiming
to be [210.97.17.6]
(carbon.btinternet.com doesn't record the senders IP
address in any way I recognise, so it's impossible to be
sure. All received headers after this one should be
treated with suspicion)

Received: from hill.zzn.com by dove.kyungin-c.ac.kr
(SMI-8.6/SMI-SVR4) id QAA10436; Mon, 25 Sep 2000 16:28:03
+0900
dove.kyungin-c.ac.kr received this from someone claiming
to be hill.zzn.com
(dove.kyungin-c.ac.kr doesn't record the senders IP
address in any way I recognise, so it's impossible to be
sure. All received headers after this one should be
treated with suspicion)

Date: Mon, 25 Sep 2000 16:28:03 +0900
From: [email protected]
Message-Id: <[email protected]>
To: [email protected]
Subject: Free Satellite and Cell Vacation Gi

---END PROCESS---

The FROM: and TO: headers can be easily forged, and as you can see two "From" headers are a constant hallmark of the spamware that this b*stard uses. As you can see from the Recieved headers, my mailserver (carbon.btinternet.com) got it from a machine [210.97.17.6], which is an "open relay" - i.e. a place on the Net where people can just insert mail, without permission. It is listed on RSS - if you enter this number into the box at the top of Spade, say by clicking on it in the header, and clicking the "RBL" toolbar button, it will find the number on the "Radparker relayed spam system".

You have hit a dead end here, though. The "Find Out" spammer targets relays running SMI-8.6/SMI-SVR4, a version of Sendmail supplied with Sun workstations that allows *anonymous* open relaying by default - the machine, in the second header it prints, simply prints the message it gets from a HELO. A mail server conversation goes something like this:

Contacting [ip address removed]
220 insecure.mailserver.in.korea (SMI-8.6/SMI-SVR4)
HELO insecure.mailserver.com
250 insecure.mailserver.in.korea Hello [ip address removed], pleased to meet you
MAIL FROM:<[email protected]>
250 <[email protected]>... sender OK
RCPT TO:<[email protected]>
250 <[email protected]>... sender OK
DATA
[insert test mail message here]

And when I recieve it, the headers look like this:

Recieved from insecure.mailserver.com by insecure.mailserver.in.korea (SMI-8.6/SMI-SVR4)
From: [email protected]

...and so on.

So what you have to do here is to send a LART - "luser attitude readjustment tool", a heads up - to postmaster@ the insecure mailserver, and so on. Do a reverse DNS and an abuse.net check on the IP, using Spade (its help files are good) and you will find.

Now we get on to the spam's body.

---SPAM---

Free Satellite and Cell Phone - Vacation Giveaways

Hi:

I am assoc # 2431. Giveawayvacations is my specialty. You can
register
for one and get a Free Satellite and a Free Cell Phone just for
registering. If you
would like one of our giveawayvacations register today. Go to my introductory
site below. If you go to the main site where we giveawayvacations Please
use associate # 2431

For More Information Go To:
http://hanklin529.tripod.com/index.html


To be removed from our list hit Reply
and put Remove in the Subject

---END SPAM---

Ah, what's this? I click on the address, and am regaled by a Tripod homepage. (I doubt it's there now, but you could check.) When I click on the link inside, I get a new page inviting me to go to
http://www.giveawayvacations.com. When I go there, I find this site has locked me out of clicking the right button - doesn't stop me from clicking "View/Source" in Internet Explorer, though. I look for the "recipient" field in the HTML, which sends the details in the form to [email protected] Trying to verify this address using Spade SMTP verify gives me an expand (EXPN) response of

250 Guy TE <[email protected]>

who is the spammer in question. Just to confirm this, I make a whois lookup on giveawayvacations.com, which gives me:

whois -h whois.opensrs.net giveawayvacations.com ...
Registrant:
none
c/o 1167 rt 52
tel, olives 99999
IL

Domain Name: GIVEAWAYVACATIONS.COM

Administrative Contact:
T, Gi [email protected] [who is this???]
c/o 1167 rt 52
tel, olives 99999
IL
7098859774

[cut billing and tech etc.]

The registrant is the "Find Out About Anyone Else Now" spammer. The name "Gi T" and the Bigfoot email box have previously been used as a registrant on general-delivery.net, the previous "Find Out" spambox (now dead and gone). The Italy address and phone number are a hoax, and the Bigfoot box is dead. And doesn't "Guy TE" sound a lot like "Gi T"? Thought so.

This is a spam from "Loree and Lord", working from Fishkill, NY - their address can be found in a Deja search.

Some of the best examples of spam-tracing work can be seen from
[email protected] (search on Deja), who mostly traces back spam from Empire Towers (aka "AMZ Internet Specialties", "ET Corp" and so on), a prolific spamhaus that continually spams long, obfuscated and
generally cruddy messages. His traces are masterpieces of the art of LARTing.

Thank you so much for listening,

jamespf
06-01-2001, 01:24 PM
Thanks, I'll try some of that stuff out.