PDA

View Full Version : This company's website is a bit strange



TheLoneGunman
06-27-2001, 08:01 PM
It seems fairly legit, but then every once in a while it just goes totally off the deep end.

Is it like a front for the CIA?

Renots' employer?

A fake?

http://www.donu-tech.com/default.html

revil
06-27-2001, 10:38 PM
DonuTech was founded in 2133 by two scientists specialized in complementary aspects of providing and analyzing ecological impact data. Both men were eminent researchers but found their profession ambitions and intellectual horizons frustrated by the rigid organizational systems of the companies they worked for. They wanted to find a structure that would allow them to produce the comprehensive synergies between their own work and that of other researchers that they thought could be achieved.

hmm... 2133, eh?

revil
06-27-2001, 11:11 PM
save their images (like from http://www.donu-tech.com/wildlife.html) and then open them in like photoshop. it's all weird and shit.

[Edited by Reverend Evil on 06-27-2001 at 11:18 PM]

TheLoneGunman
06-27-2001, 11:38 PM
I think there is something embedded in the images (stygonography) but I don't know how to view it

BADFlSH
06-27-2001, 11:52 PM
damn it, now you guys have me obsessed with this site. I have been staring at the source for like a half hour trying to get something out of it.

TheLoneGunman
06-28-2001, 12:05 AM
I think it is kinda like the Roswell thing where they first admitted it was a spacecraft and then said it was just a weather balloon.

I think this is something that we weren't supposed to see.

The area code for the technical contact hasn't been assigned yet. It must be from the future.

quest577
06-28-2001, 09:01 AM
It's just some phony site. They speak of dates in the future. They mention their clients as companys that don't exist (i.e. Cadbury Kava kava) and they mention projects their projects and things that don't exist (i.e. the Mediterranean Bridge) Relax all you conspiracy theorists, this is just a random goof. Probably a project for school

Butch
06-28-2001, 09:14 AM
It might be a part of the intricate web "game" that has spawned from the movie A.I. . . . Spielberg's production company has been creating all these cryptic sites that have to do with the future . . . the game, I believe has to do with solving some sort of murder and maybe has an even deeper purpose to it.

Actually, it's not just a web game I suppose . . . if you sign up somewhere, they will even call you (automated of course) and leave phone messages that give clues . . . this site might fit into the puzzle somewhere.

[Edited by Butch on 06-28-2001 at 09:16 AM]

Jihforce
06-28-2001, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by Butch
It might be a part of the intricate web "game" that has spawned from the movie A.I. . . . Spielberg's production company has been creating all these cryptic sites that have to do with the future . . . the game, I believe has to do with solving some sort of murder and maybe has an even deeper purpose to it.

Actually, it's not just a web game I suppose . . . if you sign up somewhere, they will even call you (automated of course) and leave phone messages that give clues . . . this site might fit into the puzzle somewhere.

[Edited by Butch on 06-28-2001 at 09:16 AM]

This is very likely, when I was offer at job at EA, they told me that part of my job description was to create phony sites for the game Majestic (which if pretty much what you are referring to). This could very well be one of them.

http://www.majestic.ea.com/

leemaj
06-28-2001, 12:09 PM
YOUR INTERFACE DOES NOT SUPPORT THE
EARTH-NET 39
HOLONEWS 7.2.1 PROPRIETARY INTERACTIVE STANDARD


THE SITE HAS BEEN DOWNFORMATTED TO THE 2-D IMAGES, 112 FONT-TEXT & MONAURAL/STEREO SOUND YOUR CHANNEL IS CAPABLE OF REPRODUCING.

TO UPGRADE TO FULL SENSUAL AND HOLO-ACCESS
CLICK CONTINUE

Doomer
06-28-2001, 12:56 PM
Oh My Gawd, it's a time warp. :D

Nanotech9
06-28-2001, 01:57 PM
Originally posted by Reverend Evil
save their images (like from http://www.donu-tech.com/wildlife.html) and then open them in like photoshop. it's all weird and shit.

[Edited by Reverend Evil on 06-27-2001 at 11:18 PM]

I think the chick in the pic is hot :)

Blu
06-28-2001, 02:39 PM
Whois.org says it belongs to Bianca Ghaepetto in Minot, ND. The phone is a bogus 555-1234 number.

Details here (http://whois.org/whois.cgi2?d=donu-tech.com)

Blu

fakesurfers
06-28-2001, 10:26 PM
it is part of the AI thing... check out http://www.cloudmakers.org for info

try the investor relations link

[edit: added more info]

[Edited by fakesurfers on 06-28-2001 at 10:30 PM]

\/\/|ZarD
06-28-2001, 11:16 PM
Woah this game thing is insane
creative buggers...

TheLoneGunman
06-29-2001, 12:17 AM
Originally posted by TheBluGuy
Whois.org says it belongs to Bianca Ghaepetto in Minot, ND. The phone is a bogus 555-1234 number.

Hmmm... Gheppetto... wasn't that the carpenter that created Pinocchio (All you Italians can now criticize my spelling)

So one artificial boy vs. another.

\/\/|ZarD
06-29-2001, 12:20 AM
NICE TLG
I think you solved part of the riddle of that site!!!
Thanks :)

Dman33
06-29-2001, 06:55 AM
http://www.donu-tech.com is running MS IIS 5.0 on Windows 2000 and is using AT&T CERFnet.

So much for being from the future... everyone knows that in 2130 we will all be using Apache v26.47.2 off of Microsoft Linux 2100 service pack 37785a
:borg: