PDA

View Full Version : Half.com is the greatest!



johnnymk
09-28-2001, 04:47 PM
In the Computers section of half.com they have items which are posted by private sellers at fixed prices.
Well, I paid $50 for what I thought would be an original version of Autocad . The posting noted that the item was "Like New". I received the item and it was a burned copy of the original with no manuals. After waiting for the EMail from half.com asking for my evaluation of the seller, I explained that I thought I was getting an original CD for the program.
A day or two later, the seller EMailed me that he had stated it was not original and "DO you know how much this program goes for?".
I then replied to half.com which automatically sent me to the Buyer's Protection Page, which I figured would be a waste of time.
Today, I received an EMail from half.com which asked me to send the CD back to the seller by USPS Delivery Confirmation. After I receive the Delivery Confirmation, send them the info and they will reimburse me for the $50.00 and up to $5.00 shipping.
What more can a person ask? They are the greatest!

welfareloser
09-28-2001, 04:51 PM
glad that worked out for you!!! half.com is a really good company.

i know last time i bought a book through them, it never showed up, and they gave me a full refund without a hassle. and i've also sold a lot of stuff through them, and they deposit the money into my bank account twice a month, no problems, very quick.

ArkiStan
09-28-2001, 04:58 PM
woah...you mean people are selling pirated software at Half.com?

jujubees
09-28-2001, 06:53 PM
They sent out a warning a looooong time ago about not selling any CD's without the original sleeves and/or booklets, whether they're old albums or CD-R's ...

http://www.half.com/help/index.cfm?helpsection=pi_software#2

Anck Su Namun
09-28-2001, 06:57 PM
If only ebay were that great.