PDA

View Full Version : Enter to win a $100 WebCertificate!



slappy211
07-06-2000, 04:09 PM
http://www.gotapex.com/ubb/wink.gif

[This message has been edited by slappy211 (edited 07-06-2000).]

DaNewbie
07-06-2000, 04:57 PM
this is a referral, not a deal.

------------------
The newbie was here.

dealseer
07-06-2000, 04:58 PM
I thought referrals were against the rules here...

Speedfreak
07-06-2000, 05:03 PM
Yep, They are. http://www.gotapex.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
§=-Sp34dFr34k-=§

slappy211
07-06-2000, 05:17 PM
Question.. don't referrals usually involve.. referral codes? there was no mention of me being listed as a referral

dealseer
07-06-2000, 05:21 PM
the 7670 part looks like it could be a referral code.

Y2J
07-06-2000, 05:23 PM
It is kinda fishy too

being your first post and all, and the contest seems like it is there to gather information, than have any true value

slappy211
07-06-2000, 05:41 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>the 7670 part looks like it could be a referral code.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE> 7670 is the member #.. each justwebit website has its own member ID #.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>It is kinda fishy too
being your first post and all, and the contest seems like it is there to gather information, than have any true value<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>How could you enter a contest and not have any information at all? That would be like everyone having a credit card with no name on it.. I see where you are coming from though

ugly
07-06-2000, 05:57 PM
Come on, guys. Give the guy a break. He had no intention of having us use him as the referrer. slappy211, I thank you for posting this.

ugly
07-06-2000, 05:58 PM
Hey, what happened to the car emblems?!?! I kind of liked them.

free4apc
07-06-2000, 06:04 PM
The justwebit.com member number is not a referral code. Its just another free website place.

But if you look in the code of his website, what you are *really* signing up for is a forum service from www.bravenet.com (http://www.bravenet.com) and it does put in his 'usernum' which I assume *is* a referral id.

So basically he makes a load of money, and after '15,000' people signup he picks one to get a $100 webcert. So he makes a load of money off those 15,000 referrals and gives one sucker a $100 webcert.

What a whack ass way to get referrals heh.

Pretty sneaky though.

- free4apc.

15,000, not 35,000.. my fault heh

[This message has been edited by free4apc (edited 07-06-2000).]

ugly
07-06-2000, 06:08 PM
hmm...yeah, that does seem kinda whack.

slappy211
07-06-2000, 06:24 PM
I see that now.. hmm.. I'm going to keep entering either way, It's like a Robin Hood type thing..lol

Hell, I help sites make money every day (Ex. Funnymoney, SearchArrow, Freeairmiles) by clicking on their sponser ads, and don't really get much of anything from them. So I don't mind helping them earn some extra money as long as I have a chance to win a $100 WebCert.

free4apc
07-06-2000, 06:34 PM
ah but how do you know you *really* have a chance at that $100 webcert?

This is just some fool who setup this site to scam people into signing up under him... do you really think he's going to 'randomly' pick out a winner? I dont even think he even gets a record of who signs up under him (much like 95% of all referral places). So how can he pick a referral from an invisible list?

If anything he'd probably just give it to one of his friends or something.

Its just one HUGE scam that I dont think anybody should be a part of.

slappy211
07-06-2000, 06:39 PM
You have a point there.. should I take out the address and the topic so that no one enters into this?

free4apc
07-06-2000, 06:40 PM
yeah that would be a good idea http://www.gotapex.com/ubb/smile.gif

dealseer
07-06-2000, 06:40 PM
are you sure that they are not just using the free bravenet form submission service?

dealseer
07-06-2000, 06:42 PM
It looks like to me that they are simply using the QuickMail feature described here: http://www.bravenet.com/members/services.php

slappy211
07-06-2000, 07:17 PM
Well.. i emailed the webmaster, and they explained it to me. I'm still going to enter into this sweepstakes. I feel like an ass now..heh

Here is the email

From: Freebies4all <[email protected]>

Reply-To: [email protected]
Date: Thu, 6 Jul 2000 18:59:22 -0700 (PDT)
To: Slappy211 <[email protected]>
Subject: Re: $100 WebCertificate Question...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------I'd like to let you know that what I am doing is far from a scam. I do make money
each time someone enters the sweepstake, but that is for the sweepstake purpose.
The 15,000 entries are necessary in order for me to have more contests than one.
That way the prize money is already in hand waiting to be distributed. The only
money that will be kept by me, from the entries, will be $60. $30 for a domain name,
and $30 more dollars for 2 months of webhosting. I'd prefer to have a bigger and
better site to attract more people for more interactivity. That is my goal. As for
Bravenet.. I use their form to mail processing. I handle all of the entries by hand,
so bravenet helps me manage that a little better. Here is an example of an entry
that I recieve:

--------------------------------------------------
Subj: Bravenet Form Processor
Date: 7/6/00 8:54:14 PM Central Daylight Time
From: [email protected]
To: [email protected]

********************************************
* Bravenet E-mail Form Processing *
********************************************

You have received a posting from your web page:

--------------------------------------------------------------
Date/Time of Posting = Jul 06 2000 / 18:52:02
IP Address: 24.4.254.100

userid = freebies4all
name = (Name taken out for privacy purposes)
Email_Address = (Email taken out)
referral =
Agree_with_Rules = yes
Yes = Enter
--------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for using Bravenet Email Form Processing!
http://www.bravenet.com/
Check the Bravenet site regularly for new and improved web services
------------------------------------------------


I hope this helps to clarify things a bit, this is just a beginning for me to create
a bigger more interactive site for people to go and get the best freebies.

Thanks for the concern









--- Slappy211 <[email protected]>
> wrote:
>Hello,
>
> I was recently informed that your sweepstake may possibly be a scam. I am curious
as to if my email address is being used for something without my consent. Someone
made a mention of a bravenet referral program. Why do you need 15,000 entries in
order to pick a winner? Do you have any answers to these questions? If so, please
email me back at this email address.
>
>Thanks!
>
>__________________________________________________
>Organize all of your coupon and freebie email into
>one FREE email box. http://www.mycoupons.com

_____________________________________________________________
Get email for your site ---> http://www.everyone.net

free4apc
07-06-2000, 07:22 PM
heh... so i was wrong.. oh well.

it just looks a little shady to me http://www.gotapex.com/ubb/smile.gif