PDA

View Full Version : RareEssentials.com Revisited (Cell Phones)



Dodge This
08-15-2000, 09:56 PM
For the people who read the cell phone thread from a week or so back, this site (<a href=http://www.rareessentials.com target=_blank>rareessentials.com</a>) has insane deals for Sprint PCS phones--like the normally $200 Samsung 8500 for only $35. Initially, I didn't want to go near this, but at that price it is so very tempting.

Has anyone dealt with the guy since that last thread? Is it legitimate? Are there any hidden charges or contracts? Hope this is the right place for this post. And please, let's not compare wireless services or phone models, that's not what I'm asking about...Thanks.

[This message has been edited by Dodge This (edited 08-15-2000).]

Grizybaer
08-15-2000, 10:39 PM
I heard that they trap you into a three year contract or something. I'm not sure how they do that though, he cant keep your CC#, you could just chage it.


------------------
~Grizy
Great, so how much is shipping?

slomo1k
08-16-2000, 09:04 AM
Here's my email dialogue with the guy from rareesentials.com - this just sounds too good to be true, and I don't trust a guy who can't spell "contract" with my CC#.

----------------
No contact.

------Original Message------
From: "Zanxx Nero" <[email protected]>
To: anthony laporte <[email protected]>
Sent: August 10, 2000 10:55:22 PM GMT
Subject: Re: Sprint PCS


For how long? Is there a contract?

----- Original Message -----
From: "anthony laporte" <[email protected]>
To: "Zanxx" <[email protected]>
Sent: Tuesday, August 08, 2000 12:18 PM
Subject: RE: Sprint PCS


> Just that you activate the service.
>
> ------Original Message------
> From: "Zanxx" <[email protected]>
> To: [email protected]
> Sent: August 8, 2000 5:39:46 AM GMT
> Subject: Sprint PCS
>
>
> Your prices on the Sprint PCS phones are very attractive, however, I'm
also a but skeptical. What are your terms and conditions on the sprint
phones/service?
> TonyLaporte
> www.RareEssentials.com (http://www.RareEssentials.com)
> 888-741-4810
>
>
TonyLaporte www.RareEssentials.com (http://www.RareEssentials.com)
888-741-4810

bobdiggy
08-16-2000, 10:11 AM
For those in the socal area- there's a place in monterey park called Cyber Cellular which'll give you a SCH-8500 for $49-with MCI service- 1 Year contract needed- their lowest plan is $34.99 with 150 min/500 night & weekend.

pjh12
08-16-2000, 10:57 AM
HOw trustworthy is a company which uses a free juno email account as means of communication?

Dodge This
08-16-2000, 01:37 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by pjh12:
HOw trustworthy is a company which uses a free juno email account as means of communication?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That's one of the things I thought at the very beginning. Still looking for that brave soul who ordered from him and lived to tell about it.

alcatraz
08-16-2000, 02:27 PM
i posted this in the last thread, but for those who didn't read it, my friend signed up after he was told there was no contract involved, but when he got the phone, he found out that he had been "locked" into a 3 year contract with sprint... not sure if he's tried to get out of it, but i would be very careful with this company since they outright lied about having no contract.

bobdiggy
08-17-2000, 09:14 AM
If anyone's interested in Cyber Cellular their #'s 626-293-1681 I couldn't find a web site- the deal looked pretty good- phone is not much more than rareessentials.com and MCI service is carried by Airouch (at least in socal) so its better than crappy Sprint service.