PDA

View Full Version : Amazon scam?



ramazank2
11-10-2003, 09:04 AM
I got this by email today. Looks like a scam.

Dear Amazon.com member,

This email is being sent to you because Amazon.com need to remind
you that it has become necessary for you to update your account information
on our website. This has become necessary because of the fact that we have
installed a new security system onto our website for your added protection.

We are offering a 7% discount on anything you buy from Amazon.com if you
update your information within the next 10 business days. For the first 1000 users
to update their account we have a special discount just for you. We are
offering a 25% discount off of anything that you purchase for the next month after you
have updated your account information.

So if you want this discount update your account information today! Just
click on the link below and it will take you to our website where you will just need
to follow the directions on the page. If nothing happens when you click on
the link, copy and paste the link into the address bar of your web browser.

http://www.amazon.com:[email protected]

*** IMPORTANT! ***

Do NOT send credit card information through email! Send your updated
information only through our website!

DO NOT REPLY TO THIS MESSAGE VIA EMAIL! This mail is sent by an automated
program and the reply will not be received.

Thanks for your time,
Amazon.com WebSecurity Team

coleslaw
11-10-2003, 09:05 AM
Notice the @ in the url? It's just a spoof to get you to think that it's a real amazon.com URL.

Definite scam. Stay away.

And remember, if you have to ask...

kei2
11-10-2003, 11:12 AM
Yup Coleslaw's right on that. If it were a real amazon email, the url would have a slash after the .com (www.amazon.com/whateverlinkagestuff). The @ followed by the ip address is a dead giveaway that it's a scam. Plus the email isn't even worded very professionally... "For the first 1000 users to update their account we have a special discount just for you. We are offering a 25% discount off of anything that you purchase for the next month after you have updated your account information. So if you want this discount update your account information today!" That should tip anybody off. Glad you at least checked here before sending in your valuable info, but like Coleslaw said, "if you have to ask..."

Cubsfan
11-10-2003, 11:29 AM
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/browse/-/10412241/ref=br_bx_c_1_2/002-4320102-7718437

If you are contacted by, or receive an unsolicited e-mail from an unknown entity, and are asked to confirm or provide your password or personal or banking information, simply disregard the request and report the incident to Amazon.com for investigation.
also...

If you receive a suspected fake Amazon.com e-mail, or discover a spoof Amazon.com Web site, please report the incident to Amazon.com by sending the original spoofed e-mail as an attachment or forwarding the e-mail directly to [email protected] Click here to learn more about Amazon.com's efforts to help stop deceptive e-mail forgery ("spoofing").

ramazank2
11-10-2003, 01:14 PM
Thanks cubsfan. I just reported it. Sorry about your cubbies.

attgig
11-10-2003, 01:15 PM
the http://69.10.142.34/ site is down... i wanted my 7% off! :( :P

bachviet
11-10-2003, 04:09 PM
Scam...

Joshua
11-10-2003, 04:14 PM
FYI:

Search results for: 69.10.142.34


OrgName: RackForce Hosting Inc.
OrgID: RACKF
Address: 1780 Dolphin Ave
Address: Suite 104
City: Kelowna
StateProv: BC
PostalCode: V1Y-9S4
Country: CA

NetRange: 69.10.128.0 - 69.10.159.255
CIDR: 69.10.128.0/19
NetName: RACKFORCE-1
NetHandle: NET-69-10-128-0-1
Parent: NET-69-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.IPWORLDCOM.CA
NameServer: NS2.IPWORLDCOM.CA
Comment:
RegDate: 2002-12-12
Updated: 2003-07-18

TechHandle: RNO3-ARIN
TechName: RackForce Network Operations
TechPhone: +1-866-468-1158
TechEmail: [email protected]

OrgTechHandle: RNO3-ARIN
OrgTechName: RackForce Network Operations
OrgTechPhone: +1-866-468-1158
OrgTechEmail: [email protected]

bachviet
11-10-2003, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by SnotRocket
article *snipped*
Canadians :eek: