PDA

View Full Version : $1200 plasma, scam?



blueindian
06-17-2005, 07:18 AM
Here is an email thread from a guy who had a Panny on Amazon Z-shops for $1200.

What do you think?
_______________________________________________________________

i am not on the website anymore,if you want to buy send me your shipping info's,so i
can forward them to amazon.you will be contacted by them for the rest of the deal.
thank you

I wrote:I can't find the link on Amazon now, can you send it?

Thanks,

RP

> hi,
> the Panasonic TH-42PD50U 42" Flat Panel EDTV Plasma TV
> is brand new,sealed,it comes with manufacturer
> warranty(24 months).if you want to buy send me your
> shipping info's,so i can forward them to amazon.you
> will be contacted by them for the rest of the deal.
> thank you
>
> --- I wrote
>
>> Hi,
>>
>> I’m interested in the TV you have at Amazon. Is it
>> new, still in the box,
>> never opened? How many do you have? How is the
>> price so low?
>>
>> Thanks,
>>
>> Richard
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Tired of spam? Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around
> http://mail.yahoo.com
>




__________________________________________________

attgig
06-17-2005, 07:20 AM
he's not asking for money yet. go ahead, and if amazon contacts you (watch out for spoofed e-mail addresses), then sure.

seqiro
06-17-2005, 07:28 AM
Seems sketchy to me. I'd contact Amazon directly and see what they say.

Cubsfan
06-17-2005, 07:31 AM
Yeah, this doesn't really seem like it will have a good ending... A price that's too good to be true? Just happens to not have the link on Amazon anymore?

I agree with seqiro, call Amazon and see if they know anything about it.

ialsohaveadream
06-17-2005, 07:51 AM
I'm with the stupids. Call Amazon and let them know what's going down. See if they think it's legit.

Thesifer
06-17-2005, 08:01 AM
:stupid: I'd watch out.. but sometimes you find a legit deal.. so just play it out .. til he wants money.. and see how it goes

blueindian
06-17-2005, 08:18 AM
where can i find amazon's number? i can't seem to locate it.

edit:

1-800-201-7575

blueindian
06-17-2005, 08:27 AM
so i talked to them, they said it was a scam and that he would be removed.

thresher
06-17-2005, 08:39 AM
Wow Blue - that is scary (but cool and brave) - :thumbsup:!!!

LegendKiller
06-17-2005, 08:56 AM
If it is too good to be true, it usually is.

DarkFury
06-17-2005, 08:57 AM
Pretty much it's a scam... (as you have found out.)

I ran into the same issue when shopping for a digital camera in the "New and Used" section (Amazon Z shops).

This guy/shop was selling the camera for $600 which normally retails for around $850 - $1,000... so I tried to buy it through the "Amazon Safe Pay" system (they guarantee that if you pay through them... you wont get scammed). Well the next day, I got back a message from Amazon saying that the payment did not go thorough and that the transaction was cancelled...

So I contacted the seller who asked me if I was still interested in the camera... and that if I was, he'd send me a payment invoice to complete the transaction. Well in the listing on Amazon... he said that he was shipping the camera from Iowa... but when the payment invoice came in 2 things caught my eye... #1 the payment terms was changed from Amazon.com to sending a direct money order via Western Union, and #2 the "Pay to/Ship from" location was listed as "Romania".

Romania??? Oh hell no... SCAM! SCAM! SCAM! (I did write the guy back and gave him a piece of my mind about his attempt to scam me...)

Pretty much it is not good that Amazon doesn't police these things better and allows these scammers to attempt to sell these scams under their name.

cheapie
06-17-2005, 09:37 AM
western union = SCAM

ski
06-17-2005, 10:54 AM
If it is too good to be true, it usually is.
Mr. Gratis :P

Of course since you know the process, you know it's not too good to be true, but 99% of people who see "free ipods" would say the same as "$1200 plasma".

(side note, I've gotten 2 iPods from these sites, I know too, but just saying that most don't)

oogeooge
06-17-2005, 05:03 PM
must have fallen off the truck

:stupid: