PDA

View Full Version : Another PayPal email scam?! Man, I thought these were over by now...



kevs
06-20-2005, 07:35 AM
So I get this email today in one of my junk accounts from PayPal in which I don't have an account asking for my info, so I decided to do some research...



From : <[email protected]>
Sent : Thursday, June 16, 2005 12:52 PM
To : My Junk Account
Subject : Notification of Limited Account Access

| | | Inbox

PayPal Fraud Mediation Request
You have recieved this email because you or someone had used your account to make fake bids at PayPal. For security purposes, we are required to open an investigation into this matter.

THE FRAUD ALERT ID CODE CONTAINED IN THIS MESSAGE WILL BE ATTACHED IN OUR FRAUD MEDIATION REQUEST FORM, IN ORDER TO VERIFY YOUR EBAY ACCOUNT REGISTRATION INFORMATIONS.

Fraud Alert ID CODE: 00937614
(Please save this Fraud Alert ID Code for your reference.)

To help speed up this process, please access the following form to complete the verification of your PayPal account registration informations:

https ://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run

Please Note:
If we do not receive the appropriate PayPal account verification within 48 hours, then we will assume this PayPal account is fraudulent and will be suspended.
The purpose of this verification is to ensure that your PayPal account has not been fraudulently used and to combat the fraud from our community.


We appreciate your support and understanding, as we work together to keep PayPal a safe place to buy.

Thank you for your patience in this matter.

Regards, Safeharbor Department (Trust and Safety Department)
PayPal Inc.

Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.

Copyright © 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. PayPal and the PayPal logo are trademarks of PayPal Inc. PayPal is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.

And here's where the link actually went:
javascript:ol('http://www.paypal-center.net/paypal.htm');

And here's who registered it:



Domain Name : paypal-center.net

::Registrant::
Name : James Harris
Email : [email protected]
Address : 27 Nottingham Road, Eastwood, Nottingham
Zipcode : NG16 3AD
Nation : UK
Tel : +1.718-213-4074
Fax : +1.302-338-7956

::Administrative Contact::
Name : James Harris
Email : [email protected]
Address : 27 Nottingham Road, Eastwood, Nottingham
Zipcode : NG16 3AD
Nation : UK
Tel : +1.718-213-4074
Fax : +1.302-338-7956

::Technical Contact::
Name : James Harris
Email : [email protected]
Address : 27 Nottingham Road, Eastwood, Nottingham
Zipcode : NG16 3AD
Nation : UK
Tel : +1.718-213-4074
Fax : +1.302-338-7956

::Name Servers::
ns1.paypal-center.net 12.215.116.216
ns2.paypal-center.net 24.4.7.81
ns3.paypal-center.net 67.163.74.144
ns4.paypal-center.net 12.207.80.167
ns5.paypal-center.net 24.8.105.90

::Dates & Status::
Created Date 2005-06-15 08:38:22 EDT
Updated Date 2005-06-15 08:38:22 EDT
Valid Date 2006-06-15 08:38:22 EDT
Status ACTIVE

Registry Status: ACTIVE


:stupid:

Jerks.

Thesifer
06-20-2005, 08:13 AM
Haha.. moron didnt even register the Domain Anonymously.. He also needs to work on proper english.. HE IS BRITISH .. :D Notice you have been making fake bids at paypal.. I didn't know you could bid at Paypal.. I know they are the same company as Ebay.. but come on.

kevs
06-20-2005, 07:13 PM
Notice you have been making fake bids at paypal.. I didn't know you could bid at Paypal.. I know they are the same company as Ebay.. but come on.

Haha, you didn't know? PayPal is now an auction site! ;)

Markel
06-20-2005, 07:30 PM
I'd forward the fraudulent message (and associated info) to the paypal fraud department. I'm sure they would like to have a few words with Mr. Harris. :hihi:

kevs
06-20-2005, 09:29 PM
I'd forward the fraudulent message (and associated info) to the paypal fraud department. I'm sure they would like to have a few words with Mr. Harris. :hihi:

Done. ;)

smeakim
06-22-2005, 03:35 PM
What I like to do is look up the IP and find out who owns the range of addresses and call that web hosting company. I am sure they don't want fraud executed on their equipment either.

Markel
06-22-2005, 05:40 PM
What I like to do is look up the IP and find out who owns the range of addresses and call that web hosting company. I am sure they don't want fraud executed on their equipment either.
Most of these end up going through Asian ISPs who could care less.

kevs
06-23-2005, 11:02 PM
AND YET ANOTHER SCAM EMAIL!

This time it was registered under the following:


Domain Name: BETTER-PERFORMANCE.US
Domain ID: D7388595-US
Sponsoring Registrar: MELBOURNE IT D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLD WIDE
Domain Status: ok
Registrant ID: A110965411840282
Registrant Name: Sean Myers
Registrant Organization: Sean Myers
Registrant Address1: 10 Orchard Ln
Registrant City: Myerstown
Registrant State/Province: PA
Registrant Postal Code: 17067
Registrant Country: United States
Registrant Country Code: US
Registrant Phone Number: +1.7178668568
Registrant Email: [email protected]
Registrant Application Purpose: P3
Registrant Nexus Category: C11
Administrative Contact ID: A110965419144952
Administrative Contact Name: Sean Myers
Administrative Contact Organization: Sean Myers
Administrative Contact Address1: 10 Orchard Ln
Administrative Contact City: Myerstown
Administrative Contact State/Province: PA
Administrative Contact Postal Code: 17067
Administrative Contact Country: United States
Administrative Contact Country Code: US
Administrative Contact Phone Number: +1.7178668568
Administrative Contact Email: [email protected]
Billing Contact ID: A110965411840279
Billing Contact Name: YahooDomains BillingContact
Billing Contact Organization: Yahoo! Inc
Billing Contact Address1: 701 First Ave.
Billing Contact City: Sunnyvale
Billing Contact State/Province: CA
Billing Contact Postal Code: 94089
Billing Contact Country: United States
Billing Contact Country Code: US
Billing Contact Phone Number: +1.6198813096
Billing Contact Facsimile Number: +1.6198813010
Billing Contact Email: [email protected]
Technical Contact ID: A110965419144954
Technical Contact Name: YahooDomains TechContact
Technical Contact Organization: Yahoo! Inc
Technical Contact Address1: 701 First Ave.
Technical Contact City: Sunnyvale
Technical Contact State/Province: CA
Technical Contact Postal Code: 94089
Technical Contact Country: United States
Technical Contact Country Code: US
Technical Contact Phone Number: +1.6198813096
Technical Contact Facsimile Number: +1.6198813010
Technical Contact Email: [email protected]
Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
Name Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COM
Created by Registrar: MELBOURNE IT D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLD WIDE
Domain Registration Date: Tue Mar 01 05:18:14 GMT 2005
Domain Expiration Date: Tue Feb 28 23:59:59 GMT 2006

GRRRRRR!!! LEAVE ME ALONE! Another spoof email sent away to PayPal...I feel bad for people who fall for these scams.... :(