Devhux
08-15-2005, 12:48 AM
So I opened up my GMail today, and discovered a little e-mail from PayPal -- or at least what LOOKED to be PayPal.
It claimed that my Paypal account now had limited access due to an automated fraud screening system. It had a link to go to a page that looked like the regular Paypal sign-in page, and all the images/links appeared to be originating from Paypal.......
.....but luckily I noticed the actual website wasn't www.paypal.com -- instead, it was:
www. danhost.dk/~dan13825/ (space intentional so that nobody unintentonally clicks on the link).
I have to admit -- these phishers really know how to fool people -- I nearly WAS fooled myself.
It claimed that my Paypal account now had limited access due to an automated fraud screening system. It had a link to go to a page that looked like the regular Paypal sign-in page, and all the images/links appeared to be originating from Paypal.......
.....but luckily I noticed the actual website wasn't www.paypal.com -- instead, it was:
www. danhost.dk/~dan13825/ (space intentional so that nobody unintentonally clicks on the link).
I have to admit -- these phishers really know how to fool people -- I nearly WAS fooled myself.