[Log In ] [New Posts] []
Go Back   GotApex? Forums Forums > General Topics > Automotive & Transportation
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2009, 02:59 PM   #1
johnnymk
Chief of Naval Operations
 
johnnymk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: LEVITTOWN< PA> USA
Posts: 13,621
Possible purchase

I found a very desirable classic car on Craigslist. The car is priced about 25%-35% of what it normally brings. He sent me pictures and it appears to be too good to be true.

Here's the catch. The car is about 1000 miles away even though it was advertised locally. The guy claims he needs money right away to pay for tuition and that he is from the area.

I asked him how he would guarantee that I would get the car. (He had originally stated that his father works for a shipping company and that the price includes shipping). He said that he woud use the vehicle protection plan from eBay.

I went to eBay's site and it guarantees vehicles up to 50K for fraud. I didn't know that option was available for non eBay cars.

Here is the reply I just received from him:

The car was listed on ebay, but i removed it someone bid on the buy it now price and didn't purchase it. But now I'm still under their protection.
Like I said, The car is here with me, in XXXXXXXXXXXXXX.
After ebay will receive your payment confirmation the car will be home to you in about 50 hours. After you receive the car, you have two days for test drive and inspect.
In those two days you can change your mind about this transaction, and if the car isn't like I said, or there is something wrong with it, you can simply reject it.
The shipping company will take care of the shipping back, with no costs for you, and the money will be totally refund to you.
But is not the case to reject it! Because this is a great car and I never had any problems with it.

Something doesn't sound right.
johnnymk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 05:16 PM   #2
Markel
Chief of Naval Operations
 
Markel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 11,733
I would be very suspicious of a car listed local that isn't local. Have you searched for other entries by this seller? My daughter once forwarded me a Craigslist car ad that seemed way below what you would expect to pay. When I did some searching, I found the same car listed in multiple cities, and other similar entries from the same seller that had been deleted.
__________________
stay low... keep moving...
Markel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 05:37 PM   #3
johnnymk
Chief of Naval Operations
 
johnnymk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: LEVITTOWN< PA> USA
Posts: 13,621
When I want to go to multiple CL sites, I use searchtempest.com. I have seen many cars listed on different areas. That doesn't alarm me at all. It just increases their chances of a purchase.

How do I locate his other listings?
johnnymk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 06:35 PM   #4
Daedalus
Lieutenant Commander
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 824
This one smells. Circumstances are thin. The writing is fairly Scamglish, though better than average.

I use google to find multiple listings. Use "copied and pasted quotes" from the ad. If the digital photos have unique names you can google them too under Images. Was the car advertised as being 1000 miles away in the ad, or was this something you only found out after contacting the person?

Tell them you have a good friend in the nearest large town who will look at the vehicle for you. If you don't get a reply then you have your answer. If you do get a reply it may not mean much, as they may just be calling your bluff.
Daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 06:51 PM   #5
johnnymk
Chief of Naval Operations
 
johnnymk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: LEVITTOWN< PA> USA
Posts: 13,621
He claims the eBay bid is not current so he doesn't have a link to the bid. Doesn't eBay keep an old bid on their site for at least 30 days?
johnnymk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:18 PM   #6
DarkFury
Secretary of the Navy
 
DarkFury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Chillin' N Da 'Hood
Posts: 34,997
Sounds like Scam to me... I'd pass on it.
__________________


DarkFury's Pimptopia - Don't Hate the Playa, Hate the Game!
Home of the Original OG Pimp (accept NO imitations)
DarkFury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:17 PM   #7
mechmike0034
aka the keg killer
 
mechmike0034's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ala-effin'-bama!
Posts: 2,738
This is a common scam - check the eBay Motors discussion board as there are several pinned threads at the top which talk about this.

Also, Craigslist has a page about this...

This warning at the top of the Craigslist auto listings is there for a reason:



Stop corresponding with the scammer and run a virus/spyware scan on your computer...
__________________
"The price of progress is trouble." (C. F. "Boss" Kettering)
"50% of the American public has below-average intelligence. 70% of the American public now has regular access to the Internet. Do the math." (unknown)
mechmike0034 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 06:13 AM   #8
johnnymk
Chief of Naval Operations
 
johnnymk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: LEVITTOWN< PA> USA
Posts: 13,621
Thank you very much!!
johnnymk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 09:36 PM   #9
renovation
Admiral
 
renovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: You could pick up Lindsay Lohan for less than a intel 990x, and still have money left over to bail her outta jail
Posts: 5,029
Send a message via ICQ to renovation Send a message via MSN to renovation
johnnymk if your looking for a classic auto -do what i do i go to alburn,ind.
here is a link - http://www.kruse.com/auctions/aubfall09/index.asp we have in me and friends have gone there and bought some really nice cars.
__________________
You could pick up Lindsay Lohan for less than a intel 990x, and still have money left over to bail her outta jail
renovation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 10:25 PM   #10
brainsmile
Chief of Naval Operations
 
brainsmile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: woah... why is welfareloser here with me so early in the morning and more importantly why am I wearing her clothes?!?
Posts: 13,754
I'd run JMK
__________________
**********************************
DCM #1 (Founder)





"Nobody beats Vitus Gerulaitis 18 times in a row." - Vitus Gerulaitis on beating Jimmy Connors after 17 failed attempts.
brainsmile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:31 PM   #11
johnnymk
Chief of Naval Operations
 
johnnymk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: LEVITTOWN< PA> USA
Posts: 13,621
He never replied/gotta be a scam
johnnymk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 AM.