[Log In ] [New Posts] []
Go Back   GotApex? Forums Forums > General Topics > Off Topic
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2005, 07:35 AM   #1
kevs
Lieutenant Commander
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 626
Another PayPal email scam?! Man, I thought these were over by now...

So I get this email today in one of my junk accounts from PayPal in which I don't have an account asking for my info, so I decided to do some research...

Quote:
From : <service@paypal.com>
Sent : Thursday, June 16, 2005 12:52 PM
To : My Junk Account
Subject : Notification of Limited Account Access

| | | Inbox

PayPal Fraud Mediation Request
You have recieved this email because you or someone had used your account to make fake bids at PayPal. For security purposes, we are required to open an investigation into this matter.

THE FRAUD ALERT ID CODE CONTAINED IN THIS MESSAGE WILL BE ATTACHED IN OUR FRAUD MEDIATION REQUEST FORM, IN ORDER TO VERIFY YOUR EBAY ACCOUNT REGISTRATION INFORMATIONS.

Fraud Alert ID CODE: 00937614
(Please save this Fraud Alert ID Code for your reference.)

To help speed up this process, please access the following form to complete the verification of your PayPal account registration informations:

https ://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run

Please Note:
If we do not receive the appropriate PayPal account verification within 48 hours, then we will assume this PayPal account is fraudulent and will be suspended.
The purpose of this verification is to ensure that your PayPal account has not been fraudulently used and to combat the fraud from our community.


We appreciate your support and understanding, as we work together to keep PayPal a safe place to buy.

Thank you for your patience in this matter.

Regards, Safeharbor Department (Trust and Safety Department)
PayPal Inc.

Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.

Copyright © 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. PayPal and the PayPal logo are trademarks of PayPal Inc. PayPal is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.

And here's where the link actually went:
javascriptl('http://www.paypal-center.net/paypal.htm');

And here's who registered it:

Quote:
Domain Name : paypal-center.net

::Registrant::
Name : James Harris
Email : leimomi01@tom.com
Address : 27 Nottingham Road, Eastwood, Nottingham
Zipcode : NG16 3AD
Nation : UK
Tel : +1.718-213-4074
Fax : +1.302-338-7956

::Administrative Contact::
Name : James Harris
Email : leimomi01@tom.com
Address : 27 Nottingham Road, Eastwood, Nottingham
Zipcode : NG16 3AD
Nation : UK
Tel : +1.718-213-4074
Fax : +1.302-338-7956

::Technical Contact::
Name : James Harris
Email : leimomi01@tom.com
Address : 27 Nottingham Road, Eastwood, Nottingham
Zipcode : NG16 3AD
Nation : UK
Tel : +1.718-213-4074
Fax : +1.302-338-7956

::Name Servers::
ns1.paypal-center.net 12.215.116.216
ns2.paypal-center.net 24.4.7.81
ns3.paypal-center.net 67.163.74.144
ns4.paypal-center.net 12.207.80.167
ns5.paypal-center.net 24.8.105.90

:ates & Status::
Created Date 2005-06-15 08:38:22 EDT
Updated Date 2005-06-15 08:38:22 EDT
Valid Date 2006-06-15 08:38:22 EDT
Status ACTIVE

Registry Status: ACTIVE



Jerks.
__________________
kevs
kevs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 08:13 AM   #2
Thesifer
Vice Admiral
 
Thesifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oklahoma - Just Recently moved from San Diego
Posts: 4,214
Haha.. moron didnt even register the Domain Anonymously.. He also needs to work on proper english.. HE IS BRITISH .. Notice you have been making fake bids at paypal.. I didn't know you could bid at Paypal.. I know they are the same company as Ebay.. but come on.
__________________

Thesifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 07:13 PM   #3
kevs
Lieutenant Commander
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thesifer
Notice you have been making fake bids at paypal.. I didn't know you could bid at Paypal.. I know they are the same company as Ebay.. but come on.

Haha, you didn't know? PayPal is now an auction site!
kevs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 07:30 PM   #4
Markel
Chief of Naval Operations
 
Markel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 11,506
I'd forward the fraudulent message (and associated info) to the paypal fraud department. I'm sure they would like to have a few words with Mr. Harris.
__________________
stay low... keep moving...
Markel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2005, 09:29 PM   #5
kevs
Lieutenant Commander
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markel
I'd forward the fraudulent message (and associated info) to the paypal fraud department. I'm sure they would like to have a few words with Mr. Harris.

Done.
kevs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 03:35 PM   #6
smeakim
Lieutenant Commander
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: CO
Posts: 690
Do This As Well

What I like to do is look up the IP and find out who owns the range of addresses and call that web hosting company. I am sure they don't want fraud executed on their equipment either.
smeakim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 05:40 PM   #7
Markel
Chief of Naval Operations
 
Markel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 11,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeakim
What I like to do is look up the IP and find out who owns the range of addresses and call that web hosting company. I am sure they don't want fraud executed on their equipment either.
Most of these end up going through Asian ISPs who could care less.
Markel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 11:02 PM   #8
kevs
Lieutenant Commander
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 626
AND YET ANOTHER SCAM EMAIL!

This time it was registered under the following:

Quote:
Domain Name: BETTER-PERFORMANCE.US
Domain ID: D7388595-US
Sponsoring Registrar: MELBOURNE IT D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLD WIDE
Domain Status: ok
Registrant ID: A110965411840282
Registrant Name: Sean Myers
Registrant Organization: Sean Myers
Registrant Address1: 10 Orchard Ln
Registrant City: Myerstown
Registrant State/Province: PA
Registrant Postal Code: 17067
Registrant Country: United States
Registrant Country Code: US
Registrant Phone Number: +1.7178668568
Registrant Email: myerscabt@yahoo.com
Registrant Application Purpose: P3
Registrant Nexus Category: C11
Administrative Contact ID: A110965419144952
Administrative Contact Name: Sean Myers
Administrative Contact Organization: Sean Myers
Administrative Contact Address1: 10 Orchard Ln
Administrative Contact City: Myerstown
Administrative Contact State/Province: PA
Administrative Contact Postal Code: 17067
Administrative Contact Country: United States
Administrative Contact Country Code: US
Administrative Contact Phone Number: +1.7178668568
Administrative Contact Email: myerscabt@yahoo.com
Billing Contact ID: A110965411840279
Billing Contact Name: YahooDomains BillingContact
Billing Contact Organization: Yahoo! Inc
Billing Contact Address1: 701 First Ave.
Billing Contact City: Sunnyvale
Billing Contact State/Province: CA
Billing Contact Postal Code: 94089
Billing Contact Country: United States
Billing Contact Country Code: US
Billing Contact Phone Number: +1.6198813096
Billing Contact Facsimile Number: +1.6198813010
Billing Contact Email: domain.billing@YAHOO-INC.COM
Technical Contact ID: A110965419144954
Technical Contact Name: YahooDomains TechContact
Technical Contact Organization: Yahoo! Inc
Technical Contact Address1: 701 First Ave.
Technical Contact City: Sunnyvale
Technical Contact State/Province: CA
Technical Contact Postal Code: 94089
Technical Contact Country: United States
Technical Contact Country Code: US
Technical Contact Phone Number: +1.6198813096
Technical Contact Facsimile Number: +1.6198813010
Technical Contact Email: domain.tech@YAHOO-INC.COM
Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
Name Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COM
Created by Registrar: MELBOURNE IT D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLD WIDE
Domain Registration Date: Tue Mar 01 05:18:14 GMT 2005
Domain Expiration Date: Tue Feb 28 23:59:59 GMT 2006

GRRRRRR!!! LEAVE ME ALONE! Another spoof email sent away to PayPal...I feel bad for people who fall for these scams....

Last edited by kevs : 06-23-2005 at 11:04 PM.
kevs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.