Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Apex DVD $89

  1. #1

    Post

    I was one that got the Apex from CC with the loophole menu. I got this email offering it for $89. I would have no idea if this one contains the secret menu. Even without it, $89, a good deal with or without loophole menu. Phone number for this offer 800-311-5560. I went to their site and didn't see the $89 price but they post this, " Call etown.com at- 1-877-GO-ETOWN (1-877-463-8696) for a price quote and availability information"

  2. #2
    Rear Admiral Lower Half psycho-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    2,261

    Post

    What is the website address for that company?

    Thanks

    Victor http://psychokid.com http://rurouni.org

  3. #3
    Lieutenant
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    La Jolla, CA, USA, UCSD
    Posts
    398

    Post

    I called the 2nd number and the guy had no idea what i was talking about.....

  4. #4

    Post

    Their website doesn't show the price or that it is available, to order it, do it by phone, I think. The first phone number I listed is the one they emailed to me and not the one at their site. To view it at their site, but not at that price.. http://www.e-town.com/categories/pro...rerID=270&star tPosition=1&section=knowledge&sortType=0

  5. #5

    Post

    This is how it was emailed to me..
    REG. $179.00........NOW JUST $89 !!!!!

    Check out what others are saying about this great product:

    Click Here for Product Review

    Only 2000 units will be sold in our online marketing test at this price....Order Now!!

    OPERATORS are standing by: 800-311-5560

  6. #6
    Lieutenant
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Irvine, CA USA
    Posts
    358

    Post

    watch out for this deal.. i saw a thread on fatwallet about it saying that the only payment they accept is by giving your checking information to them.. anyways don't jump on this unless you really check it out..

    kar

  7. #7
    Rear Admiral Lower Half psycho-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    2,261

    Post

    Well, here's a thing, I called them up, and even though it seems a bit spooky, I still ordered it.

    I used my X.com account. Since X.com/ Colorado National Bank is Federal Deposit Insured, they will cover me in an event of fraud (which is good, since I called them up to confirm the "What if" scenarios) and reimburse me in that event. Of course, the reimbursement comes from the money supply out there from the FDIC.

    If that's the case too, the government can take action against the company if there is fraud.

    Oh well, if the worst comes to worst..
    89 dollars is all I lose

    Victor http://rurouni.org http://psychokid.com

  8. #8

    Post

    Hope you get the one with the loophole menu. Even if you don't, I think it's a good DVD player. I enjoy mine and paid $179 at CC.

  9. #9

    Post

    Wow..wonder if I should buy this, and sell the one I get from iKena..that's probably the smart thing to do. Hope these guys are legit...

  10. #10
    Rear Admiral Lower Half ProMinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Posts
    2,717

    Question

    what's the deal with this apex DVD? i've heard people talk about it, but what's so special about this particular model. Is it a DVD drive or a separate player to attach to a TV? I'm gettin' pretty curious about this one. It sounds like it's one of the attach-to-TV models, but i'm not sure. I might haev to buy it just out of curiosity! Aaagghhh!
    ProMinx

  11. #11
    Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    258

    Post

    Could anyone please list their experiences with this drive? I am considering getting this for my folks. Any and all input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your help!

  12. #12
    Lieutenant
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    La Jolla, California, United States
    Posts
    410

    Post

    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ProMinx:
    what's the deal with this apex DVD? i've heard people talk about it, but what's so special about this particular model. Is it a DVD drive or a separate player to attach to a TV? I'm gettin' pretty curious about this one. It sounds like it's one of the attach-to-TV models, but i'm not sure. I might haev to buy it just out of curiosity! Aaagghhh!
    ProMinx
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

    It's basically a regular DVD player for your TV, just like toshiba's and Pioneer DVD players, except some models can override the region codes so you can play imported DVDs and also plays mp3s from cdr and cdrws......yup.....i think it's that

  13. #13

    Post

    I ordered one. The place seemed legit on the phone. But I used a cash advace check from my CC so i can still dispute the charge and I also called up my CC company and said i don't want any more than 89.95 to be applied to this check number. They said that I would still be covered under fraud protection...


    Gloom

  14. #14
    Lieutenant Junior Grade
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bethesda, MD
    Posts
    142

    Post

    i would be a little wary, especially since the "order number" is different from etown's number.. and they have no idea about this deal since they don't even sell it.. here is what i got when submitting for a price check online:

    Currently Apex AD600A is not available through any of our Dealer-Web partners.
    You may want to visit these two links to get more information regarding this
    product.
    http://64.45.6.252/apex/ http://www.ugeek.com/hwswrev/conel/apex600a/apex600a.htm


    and then listing two alternate players and some info for circuit city which is supposed to get a a shipment in three weeks. seems a lil fishy.


  15. #15
    Ensign
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    10

    Post

    Hi,
    New to this board!
    Great Stuff and Info.

    Called the 800-311-5560 number.
    They only accept checks as mentioned before, so I asked why, they said it is cheaper than credit cards.
    The company selling the product is Surplus Electronics, asked if they had a web site, and they didn't,hmmmm....
    $89.95 is the final price, I may order one, don't know yet.

  16. #16
    Lieutenant
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    209

    Post

    Well, the excuse that they only take checks because it's cheaper is a legit reason. I work with internet credit card systems all day, and we're looking into taking telecheck and that was one of the main pro's of taking checks.

  17. #17
    Lieutenant
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    La Jolla, California, United States
    Posts
    410

    Post

    i got an email from them as SPAM and there seems to be alot circulating around.....anyone think it's legit still...anyone recieved it yet?

  18. #18
    Lieutenant
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    san diego, cali
    Posts
    439

    Post

    i got the email also but i dont know man...sounds kinda weird

  19. #19
    Lieutenant
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    La Jolla, California, United States
    Posts
    410

    Post

    they told me that they have limited quantities and expect it to run out by Sunday, but I dunno, it seemed as if the (Indian-accented) guy was pressuring me to buy it, like there's no time left..probably before they are found out and run with the money

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •