Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Huge pile of Software for $50 SHIPPED (Photoshop, Office 2k, etc) - SCAM?

  1. #1
    Rear Admiral Lower Half TheLoneGunman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Grassy Knoll
    Posts
    2,491

    Question

    I am not one to post WAREZ, so if you have evidence that this is a scam or illegal copies, please post that evidence (or if a moderator, delete or lock this post)

    I got a typical spam that offered this pile of software for $49.95 shipped. It included Photoshop 6.0, Office 2000, plus some other top Adobe titles.

    The link was: http://www.fosdirect.com/index.html

    I am NOT vouching for this offer and I haven't done it yet myself
    TheLoneGunman, the TheLoneGunman logo, these smarmy posts, the mess in his house, and his silly ebay auctions, among others, are registered trademarks and/or registered service marks and/or associated works of TheLoneGunman in the United States and other countries. Other parties' trademarks or service marks are the property of their respective owners and should be treated as such.

  2. #2

    Red face delete

    gfy

    [Edited by mdcohn on 05-28-2001 at 02:15 PM]

  3. #3
    Guest
    this looks like a major scam. i doubt you will get anything at all. the page that is supposed to be secure is not, its just a whole bunch of javascript to hide the fact that its not a secure page. the link it takes you too starts with http://. in order for it to be a secure page it needs to start with https://. sorry, it looks like a scam to get credit card numbers.

  4. #4
    Rear Admiral Upper Half WhiskeyPapa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    45° 11' 35" North Latitude, 95° 8' 37" West Longitude
    Posts
    3,432
    Whoa! Notice how the page (http://www.fosdirect.com/index.html) opens a new browser window without the status bar on the bottom? You know, the status bar that shows you a little lock icon, to reassure you that the page is secure? The new page says "SECURE SERVER" on the top, but it is not a secure page!! Here's the link to the second page: http://www.fosdirect.com/order.html - click on that link and it will open in a standard browser window, which will show you that the page is not secure!

  5. #5
    that's pretty funny. They just use javascript to hide the status and address bars of the order page. It's definatly a deceptive website.

  6. #6
    I sent a blank form and this is what I got...

    "The server's certificate did not match its host name."

  7. #7
    Plebe
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    eugene,or,U.S.
    Posts
    3
    i received the same spam too--but I deleted it right away.
    I was thinking to contact the domain host company reporting this or at least investigating it.

    I remember about months ago (maybe 6 months or so)receive the same spam but using paypal to order it. Prolly the guy got squished by paypal and now changing his operation methods.

    I did a whois on the domain name--have his info name/address/phone--ofcoz this can be fakes.

  8. #8
    Lieutenant Junior Grade
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Down in the boondocks
    Posts
    134
    Damn, suckers are easy prey.

  9. #9
    Chief of Naval Operations brainsmile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    woah... why is welfareloser here with me so early in the morning and more importantly why am I wearing her clothes?!?
    Posts
    13,761
    run like the wind... run run run
    **********************************
    DCM #1 (Founder)





    "Nobody beats Vitus Gerulaitis 18 times in a row." - Vitus Gerulaitis on beating Jimmy Connors after 17 failed attempts.

  10. #10
    hot in velour pants Burzhui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    9,200
    gotta give him props on the cute java scripts, however most liley he stole them anyway
    ____________________
    IF A FAT GIRL FALLS IN THE WOODS
    DO THE TREES LAUGH?

  11. #11

    scam busting or great deal?

    Before you read the following, something I noticed. Upon pressing the submit key (without entering any information) the site appears to connect with a valid secure certificate.....

    Here's the guy's contact information, extracted via Whois, a warning, this could be fake or stolen, i wouldn't put this beyond the guy if this is indeed a scam. I'm going to email him, see what he has to say.
    Code:
    Whois Stuff:   
       Organization:
          FOS Direct
          Shawn Koons
          502 W. Harland
          Boston, MA 02117
          US
          Phone: 617-425-6632
          Email: [email protected]
    
       Registrar Name....: Register.com
       Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com
       Registrar Homepage: http://www.register.com
    
       Domain Name: FOSDIRECT.COM
       
       Created on..............: Tue, Feb 20, 2001
       Expires on..............: Wed, Feb 20, 2002
       Record last updated on..: Sun, May 27, 2001
       
       Domain servers in listed order:
    
       NS1.FOSDIRECT.COM                  199.173.197.121   
       NS2.FOSDIRECT.COM                  199.173.197.128
    199.173.197.121 resolves to the host dialup-x181-a2.nyc.zone.net

    199.173.197.128 resolves to tge host dialup-x134-a3.nyc.zone.net

    right now it looks like the server is running off this IP http://199.173.197.151 which is dialup-z171-a5.nyc.zone.net. Hosting on a dialup? could this also be dynamic DSL?

    [Edited by Warped on 05-28-2001 at 12:38 PM]

  12. #12
    Lieutenant Junior Grade
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    157

    Thumbs down

    Nothing a quick email to [email protected] won't clear up...

  13. #13
    Rear Admiral Lower Half TheLoneGunman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Grassy Knoll
    Posts
    2,491

    Yep, now I believe it is a scam.

    Originally posted by Burzhui
    gotta give him props on the cute java scripts, however most liley he stole them anyway
    Further examination reveals it WAS from someone else (not sure why he left the credit in there):


    <!--
    // No rightclick script v.2.5
    // (c) 1998 barts1000
    // [email protected]
    // Don't delete this header!

    var message="SSL Error: Secure Server -- function disabled."; // Message for the alert box

    =======
    Curious about the hidden fields in the order form?

    <!-- FORM INFO -->

    <form method=POST action="https://transact.thawte.com@12100538128/%67a%74%65w%61%79/%74ra%6esac%74%2edl%6c">

    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Version" VALUE="3.0">

    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Login" VALUE="munshinedvd">


    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Show_Form" VALUE="FALSE">

    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Amount" VALUE="49.95">

    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Background_URL" VALUE="http://www.fosdirect.com/images/bg_yellow.gif">

    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Logo_URL" VALUE="http://www.fosdirect.com/images/logo.gif">

    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Header_HTML_Receipt" VALUE="<HTML>">

    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Email_Customer" VALUE="TRUE">

    <!--
    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Receipt_Link_Method" VALUE="LINK">

    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Receipt_Link_Text" VALUE="Click here to continue.">

    <INPUT TYPE=HIDDEN NAME="x_Receipt_Link_URL" VALUE="http://www.yahoo.com">

    -->

    [Edited by TheLoneGunman on 05-28-2001 at 09:48 PM]

  14. #14
    Lieutenant Commander
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    CO
    Posts
    690

    This would work too

    [email protected]

  15. #15

    Exclamation

    Real bad news, stay away from that.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •