http://www.smalldog.com/product/41611/atdealmacex
refurbished unit. May be worth spending teh extra 50.00 to get the new unit with the longer warranty.
decent price though.
edit see below for new deal.
http://www.smalldog.com/product/41611/atdealmacex
refurbished unit. May be worth spending teh extra 50.00 to get the new unit with the longer warranty.
decent price though.
edit see below for new deal.
Last edited by ribitch; 08-02-2002 at 04:32 PM.
roommate sent me a link earlier for a site that has the 5gb ipod for $149.99. ill see if i can find it.
found it, and it's the 10 gb ipod!
http://exchange-usa.com/~exchange/cg...cgi/00025.html
Has anyone ordered from this company? They only accept cash and have no phone number to call. Sounds a little shady.
MiKe-D
never have heard of them. i sent them an email inquiring about what guarantee's we, the customers have that we will actually receive our products. also i asked about the state of the iPod's, whether or not they are new or refurbished. hopefully it will work out for the better! can you say eBay![]()
looks like they are located down near Tampa if anyone wants to arrange to meet and check them out.
This scared me away -
WE NO LONGER ACCEPT CREDIT CARD ORDERS DUE TO RAMPANT FRAUD. Only Checks/Money Orders/Wire Transfers will be accepted.
Please note the following information on clearance times for orders:
Cashier's Check - Shipped same day as payment is received.
Money Orders - 3 Day Clearance Time
Wire Transfer - Wires generally take 1-3 days to arrive, items are shipped same day as our bank confirms receipt.
Checks - 5 day clearance required.
However looking further into it they do explain it and do come off sounding legit... From the site:
Do you accept credit cards?
No.
Why not?
We cater mainly to resellers and retail owners, not end consumers. Although we are happy to supply individuals with items this is not our main business. Our profit margins are not large enough to account for the rampant level of credit card fraud from sales not made in-person. If we do not have card in our hand when the sale is made then we have zero fraud protection if the real cardholder then disputes the charge (whether validly or otherwise).
Where are you based?
Our warehouse is located at:
3701 24th Ave. West
Bradenton, Florida 34205 USA
Please note we do not maintain a walk-in retail store! If you wish to pick up your order in-person then email us to arrange a date and time.
Can I pick up an order in person?
Of course! We are more than happy to arrange a date and time that is convenient. Please be aware that if paying on-the-day you will be required to pay cash only (no checks, money orders, credit cards, etc) because we will be unable to verify these instruments with our bank and clear then in our account on-the-spot. Please don't just turn up without making a prior arrangement with us to do so as there may be nobody around to meet you and you will not have any items reserved for you!
Do you have any other items than what is listed on the website?/
No. We constantly get new products in and they will appear on the site at this time.
How long does delivery take?
We ship via UPS 3-day within the USA and Canada within 24 hours of receiving cleared funds.
Are discounts for large orders available?
Not unless you order over $50,000 of products in one shipment. If so email us the details.
What does shipping cost?
Shipping within the USA and Canada via UPS 3-day is included on the prices on our website. For international shipping charges or if you would like it shipped faster (eg. UPS overnight) then email us for a price. Remember to tell us the zip code or country you are shipping it to!
Do you do drop-shipments?
Yes. If you sell via eBay or Yahoo! auctions you may hold your auction, accept payment from your winning bidders and then pay us for the goods. We will then ship the item directly to your customer. Our name and contact details do not appear either on or inside the package. They will assume it has come directly from you. This saves you shipping fees, delay, having to pay for items before you have a buyer, and the hassle involved in sending items out.
How long have you been in business?
We've been operating in the offline world since 1998. We've recently setup this online store to attract resellers in particular who sell on eBay.
Do you accept Paypal?
No! See http://www.paypalwarning.com and http://www.paypalscams.com for plenty of reasons why nobody who values their business should accept paypal.
I have more questions. Who should I contact?
You can email [email protected]
Can you call me to discuss a product?
Sorry but we cannot do this. While we value our customers very highly it is not possible for us to spend long periods of time discussing product features when this information is available on the Internet. If you still have questions we are happy to reply to an email. If we speak to you on the phone and you ask questions that our rep has no answers for on-the-spot it is a waste of your time as well as hours. If you email us then we'll be happy to research your question and provide an intelligent answer.
Last edited by phlick; 08-02-2002 at 08:38 PM.
PO Box in Utah, that's a long ways from FL., all contacts the same.
Very suspicious.
What else can we find?
Looking around the site is very tempting though, there is also a 20GB jukebox for $150, just not possible.
Registrant:
RJ LLC (EXCHANGE-USA-COM-DOM)
PO BOX 1269
Orem, UT 84059
USA
801-785-
[email protected]
Domain Name: EXCHANGE-USA.COM
Administrative Contact:
RJ LLC [email protected]
PO BOX 1269
Orem, UT 84059
USA
801-785-
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
RJ LLC [email protected]
PO BOX 1269
Orem, UT 84059
USA
801-785-
Record last updated on 02-Aug-2002.
Record expires on 21-Apr-2003.
Record created on 21-Apr-2002.
hmmm www.paypalscams.com .... work for anyone?and personally i think paypal is pretty secure. i mean, they ebay did buy them. still waiting to hear back from them. will let know when do.
Interesting that they are "Tampa Exchange" located in Bradenton, FL. Their site is regestered in UT and they are requesting the money be mailed to NV.
When you place an order... here is the e-mail you will receive:
Dear Customer,
Total Due: $129.00
Your item(s) ordered have been reserved for you and are awaiting
payment.
YOU MUST SUBMIT PAYMENT WITHIN 7 DAYS TO GUARANTEE AVAILABILITY OF
MERCHANDISE - AFTER THIS TIME THEY WILL BE RELEASED FOR OTHER CUSTOMERS
TO PURCHASE!
--- MAILED PAYMENTS ---
Make all checks/money orders payable to:
"X-Changers Refuses Auction Payments"
In your envelope or in the memo line include the following note:
"FOR CREDIT OF ACCOUNT 71507 RICHARD MANNING"
** Please remember to do this to avoid delay in processing your order!
Please do not send any correspondence with your payment - it will not
be passed on to us! **
For you own protection, send your payment via a courier service (FedEx,
etc.) or by registered post, so you will have a tracking number in the
unlikely event your package were to get lost. DO NOT SEND CASH!
PLEASE NOTE: All Personal and Company Checks will incur an automatic
15-day hold. Therefore, we suggest you send a Money Order or Cashier's
Check.
Send your payment to the following address:
X-CHANGERS
2900 VASSAR, SUITE #307
RENO, NEVADA (89502), USA
Once you have sent this please email [email protected] with your
order number and the date you sent payment so we can hold your item for
you.
--- WIRE TRANSFER INFO ---
Please find below the details you need for the wire transfer. It is
important you get the "beneficiary name" and "reference" lines correct
otherwise it can be returned to you by our bank!
Bank Name: US BANK
Bank Address: 2203 Oddie Blvd. -- Sparks, Nevada 89431 USA
ABA#: 121-201-694
Beneficiary's Name: X-CHANGERS REFUSES AUCTION PAYMENTS
Beneficiary's Address: 2900 Vassar Way #307 -- Reno, Nevada 89502 USA
Beneficiary's Account #: 153790339383
Reference: Richard Manning
so is this worth the risk? and is there software out there to make it compatible w/a pc?
-brian
athlon xp 2500+ barton::ati radeon 9600 pro::abit nf7-s mobo rev2.0::2x512mb pc3200 in dual channel::2xwd 120gig 7200rpm::enermax 431w ps::sony 16x dvd::lite-on 52x24x52 cdrw::logitech cordless mx duo::17.1" sony widescreen lcd::logitech z-680 speakers
if the deal is ligit, then yes. Xplay is available for PC users. see the deal by me for teh deals page. It has a link there. it runs 29.99Originally posted by kellybrf
so is this worth the risk? and is there software out there to make it compatible w/a pc?
This site is not legit.
Look at it, they offer stuff below cost.
They only accept cash?
cmon guys, this one is a no brainer...
Email them and ask if you can do a pickup cause you live close by in Florida, see what they say(or don't).
also, feel free to check out all of the other boards(at, fw, etc).
they're all busting on this site as crap...
At the very best they are selling grey market items, but I would bet that if you send them money you'll never see anything for it.
Just look for the 1982 Chevy Van in the alley between Main and 4th. Knock three times and then ask for Vinnie....Can I pick up an order in person?
Of course! We are more than happy to arrange a date and time that is convenient. Please be aware that if paying on-the-day you will be required to pay cash only
Bookmarks