-
(ed: My apologies, this should have gone on the current Gurusoft thread, I didn't even think to put it there. Putting it there as well now.)
I sent Cisco, Oracle, and Microsoft letters asking if they were actually supporting Gurusoft, and I got the following message back from Cisco Systems:
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>
To: [email protected]
Subject: Case: SC-0611243 Sponsorships
Hi Ben,
I am addressing your question about Cisco sponsorship of a specific website. Yes, Cisco is one of the sponsors of this site. We utilize different companies to spread the word about Information Technology.
If you need any further information please let me know by replying to this email.
Take Care,
Jan Weaver
Customer Service Helpline Escalation Team
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
I love Jan's title ;p "Customer Service Helpline Escalation Team to the rescue!" Sounds a bit like a Sailormoon attack 
I also got an e-mail from Oracle neither confirming nor denying their role:
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>
To: Williams <[email protected]>
Subject: Re: WEBMASTER MAIL Is Oracle really a corporate sponsor for this
company?
Thank you for the information I will pass this on to the appropriate people.
Regards,
OPP Team
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
[This message has been edited by Ben_Williams (edited 08-16-2000).]
-
Hrm... that's interesting... Guru's sponsor page has drastically changed.
http://www.gurusoftconsultants.com/free/sponsors.html
Not listing any companies anymore, it's as if they're trying to make it look shadier.
-
Ensign
I wanted to check out if gurusoft is ligit or not so I just typed in www.gurusoft.com
Out came a website and I hardly read it but it said something about oracle and employment and some statistics about employing the graduates...it is suppose to be an ischool and they have a very similar webpage format but now that i look at it. they are under construction and the webpage is completely gone. i dunno what is up with this company, but the format and teh colors were somewhat similar. I forgot which one looked better and less fake...
-
haha, i cat believe it, their main page is under construction. they are having this free 500 bucks thing and they dont even have a main page...this is too funny.
-
Lieutenant Junior Grade
The root domain for the camera/$500 give away isn't www.gurusoft.com, it's www.gursoftinc.com. There is a site there, with a main page and all.
But things still seem askew; The "school" claims to charge only $25 for their entire online oracle training course. Expeceted completion time is 3 weeks (although you can take up to a year if you want) and you can repeat the final exam as many times as you want until you pass. After passing, Hasan claims, "We hire 99% of our graduates. We have agreements with clients in North America to cater jobs for our graduates. We process work permit visas for those living outside North America. We offer a guaranteed salary ranging from $50,000 to $100,000 US per year." (This sounds like a hotter deal than the camera/$500!)
A couple of interesting points: If you clicked through and read about the school yesterday, the course description is different today and the hiring claim is new since yesterday. There is also a page of testimonials from people who have supposedly passed the course and gained employment through iSchool. The testimonials date back two years even though the domain for gurusoftinc was only registered earlier this month and 2 years ago Hasan himself was still applying for jobs through message boards! (His resume, which he referenced in his response to an online job posting in June this year, lists him as working for Oracle Corp in Canada from "Dec 98 to present." It makes no mention of Gurusoft Consultants, Inc., which the iSchool site claims, "We are in I.T. business since last 10 years. We specialize in I.T. consulting, training, and placement. We have more than 100 clients all over the world and more than 6,000 employees."
[This message has been edited by bigfuss (edited 08-17-2000).]
-
Ensign
pretty good detectives we have here....I wonder who is going to check his bank account to see if he has enough money to honor the free camera offer...
-
-
Ensign
Hehe yeah... "Hasaaaan CHOP!!!"
-
Ensign
This site is a straight scam.
1) Just look at the appearance of the page, looks like it was made in 2 hours. If this site has huge sponsers like Cisco, Microsoft and other don't you think it should atleast be decent. Also, not much effort has been put into content or information wize.
2) I don't know if you have noticed or not, on the front main page, http://www.gurusoftconsultants.com/free/sponsors.html, there is a advertizement banner to dealcatcher.com, something tells me its a foul trick played by one of these deal sites or something similar. Also, doesn't it seem suspicious that a deal website has their ad. banner in a supposed to be an esteem site 
3) Sponsers page is empty, I wonder why??
4) Usually when a company gives out promotional gifts, let it be even a mouse pad, they have a long ass rules and policy statement, if look at gurusoftconsultants rules page its hardly few sentences. $500 or Sony Mevica for free is no fuc$ing joke. If its legit don't you think the rules page should be atleast few pages long.
5) Contact Us link has no address or location where this company is located. Sounds to me like this is a basement company owned by a 40 year old virgin still living in his parents house trying to make some money off scam so he can finally get laid
. Apparently he is not a good scammer, he is a disgrace to all other scammers out there.
6) Why the hell would anyone sponser a website that has absolutely nothing to offer be sponsered by huge companies. The entire internet is an IT resource. Nothing special is offered by this bunghole website.
7) I am an idiot for wasting my time and energy writing this message. A half brain person probably figured out by now that is not legit.
Anyway, it says it will take 5 business days to get the camera after 10 referrals. If any of you wasted your time doing 10 referrals and gets the camera or $500 post a message to prove me wrong.
Kiran
[This message has been edited by Kiran (edited 08-17-2000).]
[This message has been edited by Kiran (edited 08-17-2000).]
-
Lieutenant Junior Grade
How is this company gonna make me an I.T. Perfessional when they can't even get a form to werk.
Also the Job help is wonderful...With one of their "reputed" companies. Doesn't everyone see the irony of this site and the hints the have given......My suggestion Email the hell out of them and wait for the answer
Oh and I want my camera the Mevica
all mispelling is intentional
-
looks like they make money from referrals
check out http://www.cj.com/frame_hom.asp
the web site is run through these guys
-
Lieutenant Junior Grade
att; I doubt highly that the site is "run" by commission junction. The only connection to CJ is that Hasan (aka, GurusoftConsultants) has registered with various affiliate programs through them and, for tracking purpu\oses, the banner ads are loaded through CJ's server. This is no different than the banner ads you see here at GotApex or any of hundreds of other sites. CJ is a respectable affiliate "clearinghouse" company, one of the big players in that industry, and already makes a healthy profit. They wouldn't jeapordize their entire business to run a scam like this.
What I suspect might be the case (as I posted earlier in the big GuruSoft thread) is that this offer is an attempt by Hasan to get a quick, large traffic flow. Maybe he's thinking that with enough visitors some percentage will click his banners and earn him something. Or, maybe he wants some kind of verifiable traffic statistics, thinking that he'll be able to shop the site out to some real sponsorship money. Who knows?
In any event, Cisco's response above not withstanding (I wonder if they don't have this confused with some other, legitimate company with GuruSoft in their name?) I can't believe anyone thinks this whole thing is on the up-and-up.
[This message has been edited by bigfuss (edited 08-17-2000).]
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
Bookmarks