Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Is this another PayPal spoof scam?

  1. #1
    Lieutenant Commander
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    626

    Is this another PayPal spoof scam?

    Some of you might remember that I got a scam email from "eBay" last week. This week, I got one from "PayPal":

    Dear [email protected],

    We recently reviewed your account, and suspect that your PayPal account may have been accessed by an unauthorized third party. Protecting the security of your account and of the PayPal network is our primary concern.
    Therefore, as a prevention measure, we have temporarely limited access to
    sensitive PayPal account features.

    Please click on the link below to confirm your information:

    https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run

    For more information about how to protect your account, please visit
    PayPal's Security Center, accessible via the "Security Center" link located
    at the bottom of each page of the PayPal website.

    We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and appreciate your
    assistance in helping us maintain the integrity of the entire PayPal
    system. Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.

    Sincerely,

    The PayPal Fraud Management Team


    Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the header of any page.
    Copyright© 2004 PayPal, Inc. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
    Do ya'll think this is real or fake?

    I think it's fake because I don't have a PayPal address linked to this email address they sent this message to...

    Thanks.
    kevs

  2. #2
    Best thing to do is visit the Paypal page directly. Login to your account and the first window you'll probably see is the same message asking you to verify your account information. Every couple months I am asked to review my info and confirm it before I can view my account activity.

  3. #3
    Admiral
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Boca Raton, FL: By way of: Poway, CA; Gainesville, Fl; Penn Valley, Pa.
    Posts
    5,702
    Its a scam. Paypal actually says that in ALL correspondence they will use you full real name. Any emails you receive that just use your email address is a scam.
    Welcome my son, welcome to the machine...Where have you been? It's alright we know where you've been....

  4. #4

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •